Hello everyone!

 

Looooong time no read! I have missed you guys! I finally got some time off so here is a new post for y’all.

 

As a social media manager, most of my friends come to me with their business ideas and one of the most rewarding things for me is watching them grow into the business person they want to be. As a sort of small business owner myself, one of the most infuriating things, is when a friend asks you for free stuff or “friend discount”. It rude and it doesn’t really help anyone.

 

So instead, here are some things you can do to help your friend’s small business.

  1. Share their content: this seems like a no-brainer but, its rarer than one might think. Expand their content to your group of friends, they might be interested in your friend’s business.
  2. Let others know you know someone with a small business: Whenever you hear colleagues asking for someone who can do X, Y or Z that your friend does, let them know of your friend’s business. One of my biggest clients right now came to be, because a friend of mine recommended me. I know there is a lot of pressure when recommending someone, but just letting your colleagues know about your friend’s services or products can help a lot.
  3. Don’t ask for a special discount: I said this in the intro but it needs to be reminded. Your friend’s livelihood is their business. If your boss was your friend you still expect your full paycheck. Also if you ask for a quote and they give you one, you can be certain that they already took your situation into account and given you a discount.
  4. Don’t say “I love your stuff, but I just can’t afford it”: Nobody wins on this one. Just DON’T.
  5. Be there for them: Owning and operating a small business is one of the most time-consuming things in the world. If your friend can only squeeze you in for a half hour coffee break at 9am, then be there for them. Listen to them and enjoy your coffee and gossip sesh. You are important to your friend and they are making time to spend nurturing that relationship.

This is just 5 ways to help your friend with a small business, but there are millions of ways. The important thing is to be there for your friend and support their dreams.